Archive | December 16, 2010

Phylix’s Top 25; Number 4

My number is one that I like to consider an honourable mention. From one of raps greatest, no matter how you look at it. You can like this decision, you might despise it. Either way, it is a fact that this song is one of the coolest to hit sound waves this year. We’ve gone through 21 songs together on this list, time to up that number to 22. Find out more

Detanfy’s Best of Music #4

Coming in at Number 4 is Lisztomania by Phoenix.

Phoenix is a French alternative rock/pop band, they’ve been around for a while now and have 4 studio albums under their belt. Their latest, 2009’s Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix being the latest and their most critically successful album to date.

Opening Track Lisztomania is a joy to listen to. why?

Skins Series 5 characters revealed!

About bloody time!

The new characters for E4’s popular teen drama/comedy series SKINS were revealed today. Skins focuses on a group of British teenagers and their lives. The series explores controversial plot lines ranging from sex and drugs to eating disorders and mental illness. The series has been praised for its realistic depiction of teenage life unlike typical teen drama’s which usually involve  bunch of snotty rich kids and unrealistic and outright insulting story lines.

The series focuses on the teens when they are in A levels until they graduate so the cast is replaced entirely every 2 years to keep things fresh. We have already had 2 “generations” of kids go by which accounts to 4 seasons.

The brand new third generation was revealed today and I gotta say, I’m impressed. These characters seem genuinely interesting and have definitely got my attention. Why?

Detanfy’s Best of Music #5

Well folks, The number 5 song on my best of 2010 list. The song that should have been #5 all along.

Back on my Feet by Boom Boom Satellites.

I already spoke about this song in a previous post, but I cant help but speak about it some more. This song is amazing! This is the most high energy song I have ever listened to. The drums, the bass, the beat, the synths. This song is just explosive. Its a fast  paced sprawling epic. Read More…

Detanfy’s Best of Music #5 (UPDATED now #6)

First of all, let me take this time to properly apologize. I’m a student, I had finals and I couldn’t get to my list, but Its all good now

so let the final 5 commence

coming in a #5…..

Dominos by The Big Pink comes in at number 5.

The Big pink is an Electro rock duo from Britain. They are a relatively new act and only have one album  called “A Brief History of Love” . I first discovered Dominos in a commercial for British teen drama/comedy(and also one of my favorite shows)  SKINS. I fell in love with the song immediately. It has this underlying passion to it. Its a great electro pop song. I played this song on repeat pretty much all year.

The song is characterized by huge synths and this crunching bass. You can just hear it building up in the back as the song reaches the climactic chorus and you hear the words “These girls fall like dominos”

UPDATE: Forget everything I said in my previous post about Nicki Minaj. I now hate that plastic bloody cunt wipe bitch with the passion and ferocity of a thousand exploding songs. I just found out she sampled this wonderful song in her album and soiled it. She turned  my beautiful song into a commercialized abomination. I’m so ashamed of myself and the entire music industry as a whole right now. Read More…