Archive | December 17, 2010

Nujabes Tribute (One year Remembrance)

Today marks the one year anniversary of the death of Japanese Hip -Hop producer Nujabes. I wrote a tribute to him a while back, you should read it

Rest in Peace Nujabes

Coming in at Number 3 is Aurarian Dance by Nujabes. Pronounced new-jah-bes

Nujabes is a Japanese hip-hop producer. Now let me clear up any confusion you might have, I know the only exposure most of people might have to the Japanese Hip hop industry is the song “Tokyo Drift” by Teriyaki Boys from the Movie Fast and Furious: Tokyo Drift but I’m here to tell you, don’t judge Nujabes on that (admittedly awesome) song. He doesn’t actually rap, he makes beats. I’m not trying to justify this mans talents, I’m just clearing up any confusions or misconceptions anyone might have.

Nujabes was born Jun Seba. He frequently collaborated with many American and Japanese underground hip hop acts. His beats are regarded as cutting edge and very out of the box. He channels some jazz influences in his work. Read More…